Day 10 purpose driven life- 8 ways to constantly be improving

grateful for God, my family, Florida, sunshine, sleep, technology, hope, walking, music.

Below is the blog I wrote in Sept 2016, When I wrote this I said I like to make things exists, as in creating them! I had no idea the foundation was around the corner and how this thought and idea would create something that has already helped 60 young people get recovery from drug addiction. When you give your life to a higher power things happen! I sit today so fulfilled and grateful! I am also teaching my Junior High about happiness and I think I will write a book at some point because it is important to know happiness can be yours, you just have to work at it! I did not change my blog because it is still relevant! Enjoy

Actually blogging today…Day 10. Time flies when you are having a good time.  It really helped me to do the map of my time so I don’t lose track.  I am also discovering that one of the things I really like to do is make something better or even make it exist.  I never really thought about it before.  I am also thrilled with all the things I am finding online and they are free!  Yes free.  You just have to look.  Ibooks is great for free things.   Podcasts are free, ITunes University and Ted Talks are free.  Flipboard articles are free.  You can find out about yourself for somewhat free if you are willing to self reflect.  That can be really hard.  I am finding meditating and the Novena https://www.praymorenovenas.com/mary-undoer-knots-novena bring me great peace.  Turning your will over to God is essential for me.  In the Novena I am handing Mary my knots and that brings me such peace.  In meditation you need to find the word to bring to your meditation, I give my word to God.  In my meditation I say the words, Yours and Open over and over.  I also quiet my mind with the 3 questions I bring to God…

Why am I here?

What is my purpose?

How can I serve you?

Make sure you read the advise below from Zen Life… and the chart on 8 ways to be constantly improving…I may tape this to my forehead.    I think I may begin to write a class on happiness….who knows where this can go.

On a side project while I am discovering myself I am writing a small book about Recovery for my son Zach.   One Day at A Time….a story of recovery and staying sober….I am really excited and I have time to do it right now! I may even start a blog on that!

Keeping Life Simple….

“It is a great blessing to care for other people when they suffer; it is great wisdom to delight in helping others deal with their own problems.

Clearly see that everything in the world is impermanent, and you can realize the inner world of true peace.

When you meet others, connect with kindness, not resentment, and you will enjoy relationships of harmony and a life of joy.

A smile and a good word are great gifts that create virtuous affinity with all.

Reduce pointless emotions and avoid unnecessary trouble.

What you offer repays what you have been given; when you repent, you strengthen your self-discipline.

What is the best way to make progress? Devote yourself to the benefit of others. This is the true measure of success.

When you interact with other people, be “square” within and “round” without. “Square” means to adhere to principle. “Round” means to be accommodating and understanding.

If you can’t be of help, at the very least, don’t cause harm.

In speech add a measure of virtue, take away a degree of vice. Act in this way and you cultivate great merit and blessing.

Grow in harmony; strive in hope.

Excerpt From: 法師, 聖嚴. “Zen Life. 108 Adages of Wisdom.” v1.0. Green Wisdom, 2015. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBooks Store: https://itun.es/us/e_QZ5.l

image

Leave a comment